So Take The Photographs & Still Frames In Your Mind

So Take The Photographs & Still Frames In Your Mind

IMG_0496.JPG

Organic Happiness. A couple leave’s the Hope Farms Project booth feeling satisfied with their produce. 

This photo was actually accidental, but while at the Farmer’s Market in downtown Laramie I was trying to get pictures of the different stands and the people working them, but I wound up getting this shot of a couple content with their purchase from the Hope Farms Project. The Farmer’s Market is advertised relatively well in Laramie because it’s a huge event, so I didn’t really stumble upon it as I was actively seeking it out.was relatively easy to get this shot, but this photo followed the rule of thirds with the couple on the left and the stand in the other two spots. I can’t believe I wound up getting this shot because the couple just seems so happy. You can find more info on the Hope Farms Project at http://hopefarmsproject.org.

IMG_0593.JPG

I’ll get uh…A boy at the Laramie Farmer’s Market picks his perfect loaf of freshly baked bread. 

This was another shot I got while trying to focus on the booth, but wound up capturing the perfect moment with a boy and his bread. This is my absolute favorite booth at the Farmers Market, it’s full of nothing other than breads of all kinds. I had to get in the way of the crowd to try and get the bread booth in the shot. I was trying to frame the woman in between people but wound up having a different subject while I was browsing back through. Unfortunately, this was the last farmer’s market of the season, but more information on the event can be found at https://laramiemainstreet.org/farmersmarket.

IMG_0926.JPG

I’m bouncing off the walls again. Brooke Arithson and Kaycie Garner show off on the trampoline to end the weekend. 

After feeling disappointed with my sports coverage over the weekend I happened to catch the moment of gals doing tricks on the trampoline. I have three roommates so the opportunity to meet new people comes up fairly often as I don’t travel far from my comfort zone around new people. I kind of have to be forced to talk to strangers. While I usually stick to my friends’ sides like glue, I happened to go over and ask these two if I could take some pictures while they jumped because it felt like a moment to be captured. In class we were told that the best lighting to capture was when it was a little overcast, so this was just what I was looking for. This was probably my favorite thing to take pictures of because they had no problem with me taking pictures of them, they even wanted copies of them when I was done. It’s hard to take things seriously on a trampoline.

Flippin’ out. Kaycie Garner prepares mid-air to perform a flip for her onlookers outside.

Kaycie was probably the most excited of the two to perform her tricks for the onlookers (not pictured) on the deck. It was relatively easy to get this shot, other than wrapping myself in the net around the trampoline. I wanted things around her to be a little blurred so that she really stood out as she was trying to flip herself over.

Don’t crack the egg. Brook Arithson and Kaycie Garner play a game of “don’t crack the egg” as part of their trampoline shenanigans. 

This is my favorite shot from this day. The way the feet frame Kaycie as she laughs from being cracked just worked out so perfectly. Finding the unique ways that your eyes are drawn to the focal points of different photographs was so cool. While don’t crack the egg isn’t an official sport, it should be. The competition between these girls was way more fun than sporting events I’ve been to in the past, and this really was less intimidating than showing up to a scheduled event with a camera. It took a lot of the pressure off. 

Final Thoughts:

I was really excited about this assignment because I’m a big fan of taking pictures, usually selfies with my friends but getting out of my comfort zone really added a challenge. However I found out that this kind of photography was way harder than instagram photography. Next time I will preview my photos before I leave for sure, because finding out later that you aren’t as talented as you thought you were is stressful. I will also keep my camera out all the time, because unscheduled things were way more fun and had so much less pressure. I definitely need more work, but I had so much fun doing this I wouldn’t mind honing in this skill. 

Leave a comment